Format (initialize) a Memory Stick™, SD Memory Card, CompactFlash® or the system storage. Follow the on-screen instructions to perform this operation.
- When you perform this operation, all data on the storage media or in the system storage will be deleted. Data cannot be restored, so be careful not to accidentally delete important data. Data loss or corruption is the responsibility of the user.
- Do not turn off the PS3™ system or remove storage media during this operation. If the operation is cancelled before completion, the system software may become damaged, and the system may require servicing or exchange.
- During system storage formatting, the power button on the system front and the PS button on the wireless controller are not active.
- System software is not deleted when the system storage is formatted.
- Settings that are saved in the system storage, such as bookmarks under (Internet Browser), will be deleted.
- You can shorten the formatting time by selecting [Quick Format] from the system storage format methods. It is recommended that you select [Full Format] when formatting a system storage that contains important or sensitive data.
- You cannot use this feature to format a Memory Stick™, SD Memory Card or CompactFlash® on PS3™ systems that are not equipped with media slots.