Adding Friends

When a player accepts your Friend request, that player becomes your Friend. After you become Friends, you can view things like that Friend's PlayStation™Network sign-in status and the game that Friend is playing.

Sending a Friend request

1.
Select (Friends) from the function screen.
2.
Select the player that you want to add as your Friend.
You can search by online ID, [Players Met], or in other ways.
3.
Select (Add to Friends) next to the player that you want to add as your Friend.

Requesting a Friend’s real name

When sending a Friend request, select the checkbox in [Send Close Friend Request] to request the player’s real name.
To request the real name of a player who is already your Friend, press the OPTIONS button on the Friend’s profile screen, and then select [Send Real-Name Request].
After the real-name request is accepted, you can see each other’s real names and profile pictures.

  • To cancel a Friend request or real-name request, select [Friend Requests], highlight the player whose request you want to cancel, press the OPTIONS button, and then select [Cancel Friend Request] or [Cancel Real-Name Request].
  • Sub account holders cannot send or receive real-name requests.
  • A real name is the name that is registered with a Sony Entertainment Network account. You can view your real name and profile picture in (Settings) > [PlayStation Network/Account Management] > [Account Information] > [Profile].

Accepting a Friend request or real-name request

1.
Select (Friends) from the function screen.
2.
Select [Friend Requests].
3.
Select [Accept] next to the player whose request you want to accept.
When you select the player, that player’s profile appears.
  • To reject a Friend request or real-name request, highlight the player whose request you want to reject, press the OPTIONS button, and then select [Delete Friend Request] or [Delete Real-Name Request].
  • Privacy settings let you limit the players from whom you can receive Friend requests. You can also hide your real name from other players’ search results. For details, see “Privacy Settings”.
  • To report inappropriate comments, press the OPTIONS button on the player's profile screen, and then select [Report].

Blocking a player

If you block another player, messages from the blocked player no longer appear, and some other functions become limited. On the profile screen of the player you want to block, press the OPTIONS button, and then select [Block].

Unblocking a player

1.
Select (Friends) from the function screen.
2.
Press the OPTIONS button, and then select [Players Blocked].
3.
Highlight the player to unblock, press the OPTIONS button, and then select [Unblock].

You can also block players by pressing the OPTIONS button on the Messages screen or Community screen.

Removing from Friends

On the Friend's profile screen, press the OPTIONS button, and then select [Remove from Friends].