Transferring or disposing of your PS4™ system
Before you replace, transfer, or dispose of your PS4™ system, delete your Sony Entertainment Network account and other information by performing these procedures. This helps to protect your personal information and helps to prevent its unauthorised use by third parties.
Back up data
Copy saved data, screenshots, and certain other files that are stored in PS4™ system storage to a USB storage device as necessary. For details on how to back up this data, see "Back Up and Restore".
Initialise your PS4™ system
Initialisation of your PS4™ system restores system settings to default values. It deletes data saved on system storage and deletes all users and their data from the system. Initialise the system under (Settings) > [Initialisation] > [Initialise PS4] > [Full].
- When you initialise your system, all settings and information saved on the PS4™ system are deleted. This process cannot be undone, so be sure not to delete any important data by mistake. Deleted data cannot be restored.
- Do not turn off the PS4™ system during initialisation. If you do, you might damage the system.