Network > Life with PlayStation®

Life with PlayStation®

Life with PlayStation® provides dynamic web-based content organized into unique channels that can be browsed by time and location. You can enjoy various types of content by selecting a channel.


When you are using Life with PlayStation®, you will automatically be participating in the Folding@home™ project, a distributed computing project that is run by Stanford University.

Starting Life with PlayStation®

To use Life with PlayStation®, you must first download and install the Life with PlayStation® application. Select (Life with PlayStation®) under (Network) to download the application. Follow the on-screen instructions to complete the installation.

Hints

  • To install Life with PlayStation®, at least 500 MB of free space is required on the PS3™ system's hard disk.
  • If the (Folding@home™) icon is displayed, you must first update the Folding@home™ application and then update to Life with PlayStation®. Select (Folding@home™) under (Network), and then follow the on-screen instructions to update the Folding@home™ application. Then select (Folding@home™) under (Network) again, and then follow the on-screen instructions to update to Life with PlayStation®.

Quitting Life with PlayStation®

To quit Life with PlayStation®, press the PS button of the wireless controller, and then select (Quit) under (Network).

Setting Auto-Start

Life with PlayStation® will be started automatically if the PS3™ system has been idle for a certain amount of time. Select (Life with PlayStation®) under (Network), press the triangle button, and then select [Auto-Start] from the options menu.

Off Set not to automatically start Life with PlayStation®.
After 10 minutes Start Life with PlayStation® after 10 minutes.
After 20 minutes Start Life with PlayStation® after 20 minutes.
After 30 minutes Start Life with PlayStation® after 30 minutes.

Hint

[Auto-Start] is disabled when the PS3™ system is not connected to the Internet.

Deleting Life with PlayStation®

Life with PlayStation® can be deleted from the hard disk. Select (Life with PlayStation®) under (Network), press the triangle button, and then select [Delete] from the options menu.

Hint

Even if the program is deleted, the (Life with PlayStation®) icon will not be deleted from the XMB™ menu.
If you select the icon, Life with PlayStation® will be downloaded again.

Network > Life with PlayStation®