near Setting your range of information sharing

You can control the range of sharing for information about you. Specify whether your online ID, Out-and-About history and information about the games you are playing are shared. When you select the update button, the screen for confirming the information you share appears. To change your range of information sharing, select (near) > [Start] > (Settings/Help).

Share Online ID When you select the checkbox to enable this setting, your online ID is shared and you can discover players and items in the vicinity.
To change this setting later, select (Settings/Help) > [Sharing Settings] > [Share Online ID].
Shared Games Games for which game information is shared are listed. Select [Private Games] to display a settings screen on which you can set not to share information for some games. To change this setting later, select (Settings/Help) > [Sharing Settings] > [Private Games].
Shared Locations Your current location is displayed. Select [Private Zones] to display a settings screen where you can set a maximum of five zones where you do not want to share information with other players. Your online ID is not shared when you are within the zones set in [Private Zones].
To change this setting later, select (Settings/Help) > [Share Settings] > [Private Zones].
Checking your Share Range When you select the [Do not ask my permission again] checkbox, the screen for confirming the information to share is not displayed every time you select the update button. You are also able to turn "near" automatic updates on and off.
To change this setting later, select (Settings/Help) > [Sharing Settings] > [Do not ask my permission again].
Automatic Location Updates When you set a checkmark in the [Turn on automatic location updates] checkbox, "near" automatically acquires location data and updates your position once a day.
To change this setting later, select (Settings/Help) > [Sharing Settings] > [Turn on automatic location updates].

In addition to the above, select (Settings/Help) to:

  • Adjusting the use of location data
    When you select the [Allow "near" to use your location data] checkbox, you are able to turn on the [Obtain location automatically at regular intervals] setting. If you enable this setting, your system periodically records information from Wi-Fi access points when you are within the area of location based services even if you cannot connect your system to the Internet, and obtains all location data at once when your system is connected to the Internet. To view the area of location based services, select the following link:
    http://www.skyhookwireless.com/location-technology/coverage.php
  • Switch the units of distance (miles/km)
  • Adjusting game good settings
    You can adjust the settings for automatically downloading game goods and discovering items only for games that you have played.
  • Deleting all "near" data
    You can delete all the "near" data, including the discovered game goods, PS Vita system users in the vicinity and rankings.
  • View terms of service
  • View the PSNSM terms of service
  • View the privacy policy

To Top of Page