Transferring or disposing of the PS4™ system
Before replacing, transferring or disposing of your PS4™ system, delete your Sony Entertainment Network account and other information from the PS4™ system in advance by performing the following procedures. This helps to protect your personal information and helps to prevent its unauthorized use by third parties.
Backing up data
Copy saved data, screenshots, and certain other files that are stored on your PS4™ system to a USB storage device as necessary. For details on how to back up this data, see "Back Up and Restore".
Deactivating a system
If you activated the system as your primary PS4™ system, deactivate it before transferring or disposing of it. You cannot deactivate the system after you have transferred or disposed of it. Deactivate the system under (Settings) > [PlayStation™Network/Account Management] > [Activate as Your Primary PS4].
If multiple users have activated the system as their primary PS4™ system, deactivate it for each user.
Initializing the PS4™ system
During initialization, the PS4™ system settings are restored to their defaults, and all users and their data saved on the PS4™ system are deleted. Initialize the system under (Settings) > [Initialization] > [Initialize PS4] > [Full].
- If you perform this operation, all settings and information saved on the PS4™ system are deleted and the system is initialized. This operation cannot be undone, so be sure not to delete any important data by mistake. Deleted data cannot be restored.
- Do not turn off the PS4™ system during initialization. If you do, the system might be damaged.